More Than Games

Entry Criteria

Entry Criteria & Eligibility Guidelines

Entry Criteria

The 2023 Scottish Games Awards have been designed to encourage as many entries as possible. Therefore entries are encouraged that focus on work undertaken or games released between August 1st 2022 to September 2nd 2023.

The definition of ‘game’, ‘videogame’ and ‘game-related experience’ will be interpreted in their broadest sense – again to encourage a wide range of entries from creators across the whole games ecosystem.

All entries for the Scottish Games Awards 2022 are FREE.

Entries are open until 18:00 on 22 September 2023.

Games Categories

Games from any genre, for any platform, using any business model are welcome. Games may have been created by an individual, a team, a professional organisation, student groups or a collective.

Games do not require to have had a ‘commercial release’ in order to qualify for entry. As long as the game was “publicly available” (i.e. playable by an audience) during the eligibility period they may be entered. 

Games may only be entered ONCE for the games and craft categories, so games entries should be feature-complete i.e. out of ‘early access’, ‘soft launch’ or other forms of pre-release.

There are four main games categories:

1 – Small Budget Games (£0 – £10,000)
2 – Large Budget Games (£10,000 – upwards)
3 – Spirit Of Scotland
4 – Pure Quality (Creative Impact)

An honour system will be used for the Small and Large budget criteria and budgetary evidence will not be required for judging purposes.

The Spirit of Scotland award is open to games which feature Scottish culture, heritage, language, characters or landscape. This award is open to games created outside Scotland.

The Pure Quality award for creative impact is open to games which have made a significant impact beyond the commercial return and broken new ground in terms of content, audience, downloads, or general awesomeness.

For the 2023 Scottish Games Awards, games entries must have been released (publicly playable) between August 1st 2022 and September 22nd 2023.

For judging purposes, 10 x copies of the game must be made available via download links, or redeemable store codes.

Craft Categories


The craft categories are:

5 – Art & Animation

6 – Technical Achievement

7 – Audio

8 – Creativity

9 – Best Tools/Tech

10 – Best Educational Programme

These categories recognise outstanding achievement in different areas of game design, development and associated work (such as animation, interstitials/cinematics, media, programmes, installations, apps, etc.)


These categories will be awarded to the game, media or technology in which the work appears.


Art & Animation

This category will recognise excellence or achievement in the use of art and animation within a videogame or associated media (intro, cinematic, etc.)


Technical Achievement

This category recognises innovation, excellence or achievement in the use of technology within a videogame or games-related experience (experiential, immersive, installation, etc.)



This category recognises excellence or achievement in the use of audio within a videogame or game-related experience (animation, cinematic, experiential, immersive, installation, etc.)



This category recognises innovation, excellence or achievement in creativity within videogames, or games-related experiences. This category can be interpreted quite broadly and can incorporate areas such as user experience, subject-matter, audience, design, monetisation, or other aspects of the game’s design and execution.


Best Tools/Technology

This category recognises innovation, excellence or achievement for tools and/or technology used within the design, development, monetisation, marketing or delivery of videogames and/or games-related experiences.


The Best Educational Programme award will recognise excellence in teaching games-related skills within Scotland. This award is open to all educational institutions, from primary schools to universities, as well as organisations offering other opportunities to learn games-related skills, including extracurricular clubs, and community groups.


Individual Entries


The awards for individuals are open to anyone working in the games ecosystem, whether independent developers, part-time creators, students, full or part-time employees, or those 

11 – Best Educator

12 – Diversity Champion

13 – Community Spirit (Stewart Gilray Award)

14 – Rising Star

15 – Lifetime Achievement Award

Educator Award is open to any individual involved within the realm of games education, from primary and higher education through to colleges, universities and clubs or organisations delivering extracurricular activities.


The Diversity Champion Award is open to individuals who have supported and pushed forward the issues of inclusion, diversity and equality within the Scottish games ecosystem.


The Community Spirit (Stewart Gilray) Award is named in honour of the late game developer, who provided help, support, advice and guidance to so many people, is open to individuals who have provided similar help and encouragement to others across the Scottish games ecosystem.


The Rising Star Award is open to individuals in the early stages of their careers (less than four years in the games industry) who have excelled or achieved significant impact in their work.


The Lifetime Achievement Award will recognise and celebrate individuals who have contributed to the Scottish games ecosystem in the long term, across multiple projects, roles, or organisations.

Created and organised by the Scottish Games Network, with support from the Scottish Governmentu2019s Tech Ecosystem Review (STER) fund.

Sign up for our latest news